I was fortunate to have been educated in one of the premier science high schools in the country. Even the most precious lessons we learn in various physical sciences (i.e., Physics, Chemistry), I realised, can be applied to the most mundane portion of our lives. I always keep that in mind.

Now you can call me whatever name you like because I took up Political Science. Anyway, that remains a science–however ‘soft’ in the eyes of those who think they’re hard and cool enough.

I wasn’t that good in Physics. The apparent complexity of the subject was reciprocated by an electrifying hate from me. It pushed me to the cliff upon garnering consistently low grades. Despite that, I find comfort in recalling Newton’s Three Laws of Motion.

And the augmenting tension subsides a little.

In a nutshell, the third law states, ‘For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

That sounds logically simple. For instance, I stomped on the ground. Besides the force I used to act through my foot, a sensation will be felt as soon as it hits the ground which resulted from the ground’s reaction to the force I gave.

Whatever we did, are doing and will be doing, those actions will definitely impact us in one way or another, regardless of the level of reaction the universe will give to us. I am then reminded of the song I heard over the radio just this afternoon from the New Radicals. Yes, you will be getting an applause as a reaction for your brilliant answer–‘You Get What You Give‘.

It deserves questions at the initial. Why are you living a life you don’t even deserve? Why are you treated differently from how you should be dealt with? Why am I in despair despite doing all the requisites for success?

To answer that briefly, I think the idea of ‘you get what you give’ is sweeping and very linear, comparable to a cause-and-effect scenario in an isolated time and space. The third law assumes that only two actors are present: the doer-receiver and the receiver-doer. To deduce the idea to man-universe and universe-man classification could be highly erroneous. Remember that too many actors exist. It’s not as if you do this then the universe will automatically react in correspondence to it. But I think we are instruments of the universe to articulate what it wants to say.

Also, the impact of your actions to them vary from person to person, and so are your reactions to theirs. If accumulated, the aggregate reaction to your action is the one you deserve yet it might be beyond your actual capacity to handle it. That might lead to thoughts of unfairness. Maybe you need to evaluate how you impacted other people before shouting how unfair life can be to you.

For sure I wasn’t able to give you a clear-cut set of arguments. Try to think about these issues when all you want to do is sleep and let’s see how organised your arguments will be. Ha-ha. But hey, aren’t you amazed with how the universe manoeuvres its resources to reward us for doing something good (I know this concept is contestable) or punish us due to a wrongdoing (also contestable)?

Please don’t forget to engage me in a conversation through the comment box, if you have a nice take on this. :)

Whatever our opinions are on this matter, I know you’ll agree to me that Karma was scientifically explained by Newton.

