This year has not ended yet but I can proudly claim how good 2011 has been to me.

Setting goals for the upcoming year wasn’t a habit, until signs of ageing sank in (including balding). But personally, I find the practice valuable despite realising on December how many of these items were sorely missed!

Eleven goals for 2011 were drafted and, to my surprise (yeah right!), 2011 was a great leap forward from what I had in 2010. Eight goals were achieved, five of which were fulfilled to a large extent. Only three goals were left untouched due to circumstances quite beyond my control.

Not bad!

I won’t go through the eleven items for this post. However, I’d highlight some major achievements for 2011, which were out of my sight a few years back.

***

2011 is a year of change.

One of my goals for 2011 is to finish books. In search of some interesting reads, I came across a very thin book with a simple yet powerful story entitled “Who Moved My Cheese?“.

For some time, I’ve become a fan of these me-times, reflections, and self-assessment. I was too anxious to know what’s wrong within me and why an apparent lack of motivation exists. In the process, the real problem isn’t the accuracy of observations. In fact, I’m too self-aware that every assessment I say about me is correct.

Then one line from the book struck me.

What would you do if you were not afraid?

I was just too afraid to change, after all.

Time wasn’t a friend, and I kept chasing it instead of managing. I opted to neglect each second and its potential, which led me to a harder path before realising its real value.

I promised to reaffirm my belief of making things right first time in the morning. That decision has been rewarding. From a weary, pessimist, and depressed me, I kept transforming day by day.

I avoided struggling at the start of each day and arriving late in the office. Many times, I beat or finish ahead of deadlines. I attempted focusing especially at work by choosing delayed over immediate gratification. Soft skills were maximised to produce hard, tangible results. Fretting and sulking on what I didn’t or can’t achieve at the moment were consciously stopped to focus on my achievements thus far.

Days, weeks, and months passed.

From a new member of the professional pool in limbo, I have managed to become competitive and imbibe necessary skills to explore the world. I may not puzzle this early why I’m pursuing a career in IT. Nevertheless, this burning awe will equip me of what I need for success and relevance.

From wandering and insecurity, I learn to focus on the now, celebrate even the pettiest victories, appreciate things, people, and events, and stay sane.

From someone too afraid to risk, I regained the thrill of taking them.

From someone frustrating himself more in his quest for happiness, he has chosen to yearn for learning instead.

From someone who does not believe in his potential, now he does. Again.

And I choose to choose these over and over.

